2018 Sonic Boom Festival: Ensemble in Residence Concert

Time: 7:30 PM
Date: 2018 Mar 25
Location: Orpheum Annex (823 Seymour Street, Vancouver)

The  2018 Sonic Boom Festival Ensemble in Residence is The Nu: BC Collective which encompasses the talents of flutist Paolo Bortolussi, cellist Eric Wilson and pianist Corey Hamm; joined for the 2018 Sonic Boom Festival by David Gillham (violin), Tawnya Popoff (viola), Mark Beaty (bass), and Liam Hockley (clarinet).

Nu:BC has performed over 35 critically acclaimed concerts across Canada, the US, and in Taiwan. They have commissioned and premiered dozens of works by outstanding Canadian composers Michael Oesterle, Keith Hamel, Dorothy Chang, Ana Sokolovic, Aaron Gervais, Gabriel Dharmoo, Edward Top, Brian Cherney,  and Chris Paul Harman, amongst others. Their programs have featured these works alongside works by influential international composers including Kaija Saariaho, Gerard Grisey, Shulamit Ran, Gyorgy Ligeti, Chen Yi, Frederic Rzewski, Jesper Nordin, Gyorgy Kurtag, Arvo Pärt, George Crumb, John Adams, Nikolai Kapustin, and Jacob ter Veldhuis.



Owen Underhill: Miniatures

Aryan Borboruah: Elapse

Diane Berry: Of Shadows and Light

David Storen: Empty Spaces Part 1

Adam Zolty: Three Expressions for Piano Septet


David Knights Cowling: A Moment Shared

Danny Choi: Calvary

Angela So: Adrift in September

Ramsey Sadaka: Two Reflections on an Autumnal Garden

Michael Ducharme: Aphelion



Concert Date:

Sunday, March 25, 2018 at 7:30 pm at Orpheum Annex (823 Seymour St., Vancouver BC)


$20 General, $15 for Students/Seniors/Artists

Festival Pass (entrance to all 4 concerts) is $50


Or purchase at the door (cash or credit card)