Call for Scores: Sonic Boom 2019 Composers’ Masterclass

Time: 11:59 pm
Date: 2019 Mar 03

Vancouver Pro Musica Presents

Sonic Boom 2019: Composers’ Masterclass

Call for Scores

Featuring pianist Nicole Linaksita

and Composer-in-Residence Rodney Sharman


As part of our long‐standing commitment to encourage and mentor young composers, Vancouver Pro Musica would like to invite BC composers of any level of experience to submit a piece for our Masterclass during Sonic Boom 2019. The masterclass will be held on Sunday, March 24th, 2019 from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm in the Martha Lou Henley VSO School of Music. Deadline for submissions is 11:59 pm on March 3, 2019.

About the Masterclass

The masterclass will be moderated by our Sonic Boom 2019 Composer-in-Residence, Rodney Sharman. Participants will receive a professional reading of their work performed by Nicole Linaksita (piano). Rodney Sharman and Nicole Linaksita will provide feedback regarding each piece. Participants will also have the opportunity to interact with the pianist and fellow participants in open discussion. This workshop is a rare and valuable opportunity for all student composers to learn about writing new music for the piano and to engage with a professional musician and composer.

About the Artists

Pianist: Nicole Linaksita

Nicole Linaksita has performed solo and chamber concerts in Canada, USA and Europe. A participant in national and international competitions, she was awarded First Place, Audience and Teacher’s Prizes at the 2011 Seattle International Piano Competition and was chosen as a semi-finalist for the 2015 OSM Manulife and 2013 Eckhardt-Gramatté Competitions. She was also selected to participate as one of 30 finalists in the CMC Stepping Stone Competition, placing among the top six in 2016. Recently, she won First Prize and the Audience Choice prize in the 2017 BC Bösendorfer Piano Competition. In addition, she was awarded a silver medal and a certificate for the best performance of a Canadian work for the piano artists division of the 2017 Vancouver International Music Competition. In December 2017, Nicole performed Moritz Moszkowski’s Piano Concerto in E Major, Op. 59 in the Music Without Borders Society Concerto Gala with the Vancouver Philharmonic Orchestra. She will be performing with the Vancouver Academy of Music Orchestra in October 2018 and the Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra in their 2019 season.

Nicole has frequently performed the works of contemporary composers. More recently, she played with the Music on Main All-Star Band for their Vancouver premiere of Steve Reich’s “Music for 18 Musicians”. In 2017, she was invited to be a featured artist for Emerge on Main, a programme hosted by Music on Main that supports rising musicians.

Nicole completed undergraduate studies in Piano Performance and Computer Science at the University of British Columbia, studying under Corey Hamm and Ryo Yanagitani, receiving the Director’s Graduation Prize for Outstanding Piano Performance.

Composer-in-Residence: Rodney Sharman

photo credit: Mark Mushet

Rodney Sharman is Composer-in-Residence of Early Music Vancouver’s “New Music for Old Instruments”. He has been Composer-in-Residence of the Victoria Symphony, the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, as well as Composer-Host of the Calgary Philharmonic’s New Music Festival, “Hear and Now”. In addition to concert music, Rodney Sharman writes music for cabaret, opera and dance. He sings, conducts, plays recorders and flutes. He works regularly with choreographer James Kudelka, for whom he has written scores for Oregon Ballet Theatre, San Francisco Ballet and Citadel & Compagnie (Toronto). Sharman was awarded First Prize in the 1984 CBC Competition for Young Composers and the 1990 Kranichsteiner Prize in Music, Darmstadt, Germany. His score for From The House Of Mirth won the 2013 Dora Mavor Moore Award for outstanding sound design/composition (choreography by James Kudelka, text by Alex Poch Goldin after Edith Wharton’s The House of Mirth). He is the recipient of the 2017 Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts.

Rodney Sharman’s Website

Who can submit a score?

We welcome submissions from composers of all levels of experience. Although typically applicants are from the secondary school to university level, we encourage any and all interested composers to apply!


Your submission should be a score for a short piece (less than 8 minutes) for solo piano. Pieces can (but are not required to) include extended techniques for the pianist.

Application Guidelines

We welcome all styles/genres in either standard musical notation or graphic scores. BC composers of all levels of experience to submit a piece for our Sonic Boom Masterclass.

To submit, complete the online form at the bottom of this page. It is free to submit pieces to the Masterclass!

Only submission forms completed through this website will be considered.

  • Applicants must be residents of British Columbia.
  • Submissions must be received by 11:59 pm on Sunday, March 3, 2019.
  • The submission of an application implies agreement to attend the masterclass.
  • Submitted pieces must be less than 8 minutes in length.


Applications must include:

  • The composer’s name and e-mail address.
  • Two Copies of the score and any desired supporting material. One copy of the score should be anonymous, in the event that a jury is required to adjudicate submissions.

Masterclass participants will be contacted by mid March 2019 to confirm attendance.