Further Series: Nu:BC Collective – Call for Scores

Time: 23:59
Date: 2016 Mar 11

Vancouver Pro Musica Presents

Further Series 2016 Call for Scores

Featuring the Nu:BC Collective


Vancouver Pro Musica is pleased to invite all BC composers to submit new works for presentation at our Further Series concert on May 13, 2016, featuring the Nu:BC Collective. Deadline for submissions is March 11, 2016. Additionally there will be a free workshop with the ensemble on January 9, and an open reading session for pieces chosen for the concert on April 3.

About the Artists

Described in the Vancouver Sun as “a dream gift…One of the best additions to local new music circles”, The Nu:BC Collective brings together the spectacular talents of flutist Paolo Bortolussi, cellist Eric Wilson and pianist Corey Hamm, joined frequently by such eminent artists as violinist Jasper Wood, violist David Harding, and clarinetists Francois Houle and Cris Inguanti. Now in its ninth season as an ensemble-in-residence at the University of British Columbia, Nu:BC has presented critically acclaimed concerts featuring repertoire by exciting and influential contemporary composers from Canada and abroad.

From its inception the Nu:BC has striven to bring new music to audiences with an emphasis on collaboration and innovative approaches to concert programming. Incorporating technology and interdisciplinary collaboration has been a focus of the Collective, resulting in works pairing music with dance, interactive video and computer, as well as theatre. Collaborations have included performances with dancer and choreographer Emily Molnar, media artist jamie griffiths, interactive electronic music pioneers Keith Hamel and Robert Pritchard, Musica Intima, and the BC Chinese Music Ensemble.

Nu:BC has presented masterclasses and concerts at the the University of California (Davis), Cal State Fresno, the Universities of Illinois, Alberta (Edmonton), Calgary, and Western Washington, Wilfred Laurier and Roosevelt University, the Music on Main series in Vancouver and the Washington Composers Forum. Recent projects include the premiere of newly commissioned works by Gabriel Dharmoo, Edward Top, Dorothy Chang, Keith Hamel, Bob Pritchard, Brian Cherney, Chris Paul Harman, Scott Godin, Taylor Brook, and Michael Oesterle, as well as the recording of their first CD, “Beyond Shadows”, featuring works by Brian Cherney, Dorothy Chang, Chris Paul Harman, and Marc Mellits. The upcoming season features the premiere of a new trio by Dorothy Chang, a new triple concerto featuring the Nu:BC Collective as soloists with the Turning Point Ensemble, an innovative transcription of Mahler’s seminal work Kindertotenlieder by Alfredo Santa Ana, and the premiere of Ana Sokolovic’s arrangement of her piano trio Portrait Parle, for flute, cello and piano.

Application Guidelines

We welcome submissions from BC composers of all styles and genres. To submit a piece, complete the online form at the bottom of this page. Payment may be made through Paypal, or by cheque mailed separately. Only submission forms completed through this website will be considered.


Your submission should include a score and parts for a piece no more than 8 minutes in length for at least two of the following instruments (Solo pieces and pieces requiring electronics will not be considered):

  • Flute (doubling Alto Flute)
  • Cello
  • Piano

All submissions must also meet the following requirements:

  • Submitting composers must be residents of BC.
  • Submissions must be received by 11:59 pm on Friday, March 11, 2016.
  • Accompanied by cash or cheque sent by mail. Fee for submission is $25.
  • Works must have been composed within the past three years.
  • Composers will be expected to attend the reading session and concert for their work.
  • Submitted pieces must be less than 8 minutes in length. Please note that time limits will be strictly enforced to allow as many pieces as possible to be programmed.


Applications must include:

  • The composer’s name, address, and e-mail address.
  • Application fee of $25. Payment can be made via Paypal or cheque by mail. Please make cheques payable to:
    • Vancouver Pro Musica Society
      PO Box 78077 RPO Grandview
      Vancouver, BC  V5N 5W1
  • One Copy of all performers’ parts.
  • Two Copies of the score. One copy of the score should be anonymous, in the event that a jury is required to adjudicate submissions.

Announcement and Presentation of Works Selected

Vancouver Pro Musica will contact all the submitters by late March 2016. While Pro Musica wishes to be as inclusive as possible, production costs, time constraints, and other practical concerns may require that not all submitters will have a work selected. In the event that these considerations do not permit the performance of all submissions, Vancouver Pro Musica will employ a panel of professional composers not associated with Vancouver Pro Musica to guide selection. Decisions of the panel will be final.

Composers selected for performance must be ready to provide all required performance materials including parts. Those whose works are presented will receive a recording of their work for non-commercial purposes.

All composers who submit—regardless of whether or not their piece is selected for performance—automatically become members in good standing of Vancouver Pro Musica, exempt from membership dues for one year.

Important Dates

  • January 9, 2016, 10am–2pm: Open workshop at the CMC BC Creative Hub.
  • March 11, 2016: Score submission deadline.
  • End of March, 2016: Submitters notified of selection results.
  • April 3, 2016, 10am–2pm: Open reading session (location tba.)
  • May 13, 2016: Concert at Pyatt Hall, VSO School of Music.