Featured Artist, Beth Orson – Call for Scores (Sonic Boom 2021)

Time: 12:01 am
Date: 2021 Jan 16

Vancouver Pro Musica Presents

Sonic Boom 2021

Featured Artist –Beth Orson (solo oboe/English horn)

About the Artist:

Photo: Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

Beth Orson has played Assistant Principal Oboe and English Horn with the Vancouver Symphony since 1990. Adjunct faculty at the UBC School of Music since 1993, she was appointed Oboe Coach for the National Youth Orchestra of Canada (NYO) in 2008.

As a chamber musician, Ms. Orson appears regularly with the VSO Chamber Players, on the Noon-Hour recital series at UBC, and at NYO. Principal Oboe of the NY Symphonic Ensemble from 1988-2005, she completed nineteen tours to Japan with this renowned chamber orchestra, performing in every major concert hall in Japan, often as oboe soloist. Ms.Orson’s solo English horn performances include the world premiere of Bramwell Tovey’s “The Progress of Vanity” composed for her, Rodney Sharman’s “Songs Without Words,” the North American premiere of James MacMillan’s “The World’s Ransoming,” Brian Cherney’s “In the Stillness of September 1942” and Sibelius’s “The Swan of Tuonela” all with the VSO as well as the solo English horn part to Dan Seguin’s Leo Award-winning score for the CBC feature film “Murder Unveiled” and on Christopher Nickel’s album, “Rain.”

Ms.Orson can be heard playing both solo oboe and English horn on Jeffrey Ryan’s recently released album, “My Soul Upon My Lips” for Redshift Records.

A graduate of the Oberlin Conservatory and winner of the Oberlin Concerto Competition, Ms. Orson’s principal teachers were Laurence Thorstenberg, James Caldwell, and Elaine Douvas.

Application Guidelines

We welcome submissions from BC composers of all styles and genres. To submit a piece, complete the online form at the bottom of this page. Payment may be made through Paypal, or by cheque mailed separately. Only submission forms completed through this website will be considered.

Your submission should include a score for a piece no more than 8 minutes in length for either:

  • oboe
  • English horn

NB: pieces requiring electronics will not be considered)

General Information about the OBOE and ENGLISH HORN

Watch the zoom workshop with Beth from November 29:


Passcode to watch the video: Passcode: 8ib82=.$

All submissions must also meet the following requirements:

  • Submitting composers must be residents of BC.
  • Submissions must be received by 11:59 pm on Friday, January 15th, 2021.
  • Accompanied by cash or cheque sent by mail. Fee for each submission is $25.
  • Works must have been composed within the past three years.
  • Composers will be expected to attend (via on-line means [Zoom or equivalent] or in person [if permitted]  the reading session and concert for their work.
  • Submitted pieces can be up to 8 minutes in length (suggested 5-8 mins). Please note that time limits will be strictly enforced.

Applications must include:

  • The composer’s name, address, and e-mail address.
  • Application fee of $25 per submission. Payment can be made via Paypal or cheque by mail. Please make cheques payable to:
    • Vancouver Pro Musica Society
      PO Box 78077 RPO Grandview
      Vancouver, BC  V5N 5W1
  • Two copies of the score. One copy of the score should be anonymous, in the event that a jury is required to adjudicate submissions.

Announcement and Presentation of Works Selected
Vancouver Pro Musica will contact all the submitters by Tuesday, January 26, 2021. While Vancouver Pro Musica wishes to be as inclusive as possible, production costs, time constraints, and other practical concerns may require that not all submitters will have a work selected. Vancouver Pro Musica is aiming to have each concert contain 60-65 mins of music in total. In the event that these considerations do not permit the performance of all submissions, Vancouver Pro Musica will employ a panel of professional composers not associated with Vancouver Pro Musica to guide selection. Decisions of the panel will be final.

Composers selected for performance must be ready to provide all required performance materials including parts. Those whose works are presented will receive a recording of their work for non-commercial purposes.

All composers who submit—regardless of whether or not their piece is selected for performance—automatically become members in good standing of Vancouver Pro Musica, exempt from membership dues for one year.

Important Dates

  • Sunday, November 29, 2020 at 3:00pm: workshops with the Featured Artists (via Zoom).
  • Friday, January 15 , 2021 at 11:59pm: Score submission deadline.
  • Tuesday, January 26, 2021: Submitters notified of selection results.
  • Tuesday, February 23, 2021 at 7:00 pm Open reading session of selected works (via Zoom).
  • Friday, February 26, 2021: Final revisions to scores and parts due.
  • Friday, March 26, 2021, 7:30pm: on-line concert #1
  • Saturday, March 27, 2021, 7:30pm: on-line concert #2